Injured In a Slip & Fall Accident At Work? Here’s What To Do
If you’ve been injured in a slip and fall accident at your work, you can file a worker’s compensation claim. Most employers carry a workers compensation policy, which means you will file claims for work-related injuries with your employer’s insurance company. You can file a worker’s compensation claim regardless of who is at fault for the incident. Since slip and fall accidents are the most common work-related injury, it’s likely that your employer’s insurance company will cover these types of incidents.
Sometimes, employers do not carry worker’s compensation insurance, in which case you may be able to file a personal injury lawsuit even though the injury was work-related. It’s best to consult with a Nevada slip & fall lawyer who can help you navigate the complexities of a work-related personal injury claim.
How Long After a Fall Can I Sue My Employer?
Worker’s compensation claims must be filed shortly after the incident. In the state of Nevada, your claim must be filed within 90 days of the fall, although as soon as possible is generally better. If you have been seriously injured, you should file your worker’s compensation claim immediately. If your employer does not carry worker’s compensation, your claim can become a personal injury case. The statute of limitations in Nevada for personal injury claims is two years, but it’s best to hire a Reno slip & fall lawyer right away so that evidence can be gathered as soon as possible and paperwork can be filed on time.
Common Causes Of Slip & Fall Accidents At Work
Slip & fall accidents can have many causes, which may include:
- Floor cracks
- Fresh wax on the floor
- Unsalted ice on sidewalks or in parking lots
- Loose rugs or carpets
- Loose floorboards
- Oil or other spills on the floor
- Potholes or cracks in the parking lot
- Missing or broken railings
- Wet flooring
Injuries that commonly result from slip & fall incidents include:
- Back or spinal cord injury
- Neck injury
- Broken bones, such as leg, arm, ankle, or rib
- Broken teeth or other dental injury
- Concussion and other types of traumatic brain injuries
- Cuts and scrapes
- Head or facial injuries, which can be severe
- Internal bleeding or organ damage
- Sprains, especially ankles and wrists
- Shoulder injuries
In extreme slip and fall accidents, you could have severe injuries. Seek medical attention immediately after a slip and fall incident to make sure you do not have injuries that may not be immediately apparent.
What Should I Do If I Slip & Fall At Work?
If you’ve been injured at work, your first step is to get medical treatment for your injuries. Get care from any medical provider within your insurance company’s network; if the situation is an emergency, you should be taken to the nearest hospital or emergency room. Let your doctor and care team know that the injury is work-related. Getting medical care is important both for your health but also to provide evidence and documentation for your injury claim with your Las Vegas worker’s compensation lawyer.
Once you’ve gotten the treatment you need, file a worker’s compensation claim at your place of employment. Nevada employees will need to complete a C-4 form, called the “Employee’s Claim for Compensation/Report of Initial Treatment” form. Your claim will not be considered submitted without this form; you’ll be notified of approval or denial within 30 days. Be sure to keep a copy of the submitted form for your own records.
How Much Compensation Can I Expect From a Slip & Fall Claim?
The payout value of a worker’s compensation slip and fall claim will vary from case to case, but about half of these claims are settled for less than $15,000. The other half of cases are settled for over $15,000 and average around $25,000. Details such as the extent of your injuries, how the accident happened, and proof that you suffered an injury as a result of the injury and while on the clock will affect your eligibility for benefits as well as the final compensation amount.
How Long Does It Take To Settle a Worker’s Compensation Claim?
Typically, it takes 1-2 years to settle a worker’s compensation claim, from the date that the claim was filed. Many factors determine how long it will take to finalize the claim; some will be settled quickly while other situations are more complicated or may be denied altogether. If your worker’s compensation claim is denied, you can file an appeal or request a hearing. This will extend the time of your claim and will require an experienced Las Vegas slip & fall lawyer to work on your behalf.
Legal Help For Slip & Fall Accidents In Nevada
Get the compensation you deserve from a work-related injury by working with Benson & Bingham Accident Injury Lawyers, LLC. We are a top-rated personal injury firm serving Summerlin Las Vegas and the greater state of Nevada. Our legal firm has the expertise, knowledge, and experience you need on your side. Contact our office today to schedule your free case review.
Benson & Bingham Accident Injury Lawyers
11441 Allerton Park Dr #100
Las Vegas, NV 89135
626 S 10th St
Las Vegas, NV 89101
9230 S Eastern Ave #155
Las Vegas, NV 89123
1320 E Plumb Lane Ste A
Reno, NV 89502